Danizilla Escapes Portland!

It feels like it has been forever since I had a vacation. This is about to change. On Christmas morning, I will be flying solo to the Hawaiian island Oahu. A brand new location for me, and desperately necessary. I’m hoping my stress will melt away and I can do some soul searching in the sun.

I haven’t packed yet, but I always kind of wait until the last minute to do so. I’ve been constantly updating my to do list for everything I need to get done before I go. I have three days off to accomplish all of them, and a few items are already completed. One thing I definitely did in advance was order some spray on sunscreen. I’ve made the mistake of purchasing sunscreen in Hawaii before, it is much much cheaper to just bring it with.

I usually mentally compile a list of the random things that have somehow become necessities for my travel kit. These things are normally injury or illness related I’ve noticed. Liquid bandage has become a must (I have an adhesive allergy so I can’t wear bandages for too long, also I have noticed in some humid climates where I do a lot of walking, bandages just tend to come off if they are on my feet or ankles anyway). I still do bring bandages and/or moleskin padding just in case. I tend to do a lot of walking when I travel and somehow always get blisters or worn spots around my ankles. Doesn’t seem to matter what type of shoes or sandals or whatever, so I try to prepare as much as possible. This time around I bought some shoes that I felt would be the most comfortable and have been wearing them around the house to break them in as much as possible before I leave. On the same note, Neosporin is also included in my luggage.

Nail clippers and a nail file have also been added to the list. I always break nails and  they drive me crazy catching on clothing and whatever else. Another pretty silly thing is my own pillow. I have a small travel pillow I bring with because I have accidentally stained pillowcases at hotels before with my hair! I don’t want to end up being charged for any damage so now I am super paranoid about it! Also having my own pillow means always having that same level of comfort, we all know some hotels and hostels have terrible pillows.

After experiencing a terrible bout of salmonella on a trip, I now also carry activated charcoal. It was hellish being so sick in a foreign place where I was unable to procure the typical comforts of home like Gatorade and saltines, in fact I couldn’t even leave the bed so a bit of a moot point.

All of this stuff ends up taking up enough space that I can’t travel as light as I’d prefer, but being that I have sleep apnea and therefore must travel with medical equipment, I can’t really travel light anyway. Very frustrating! However these things I have listed have ended up saving me more than once, or could have saved me from a lot of discomfort.

What kind of things do you consider “must haves” when you travel? What have you learned to carry with you after experiencing difficulties?

 
 

 
 
All images, text and related content copyright Danizilla Conquers the World unless otherwise stated.

 
 
Creative Commons License
Danizilla Conquers the World by http://danizilla.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

9 responses to “Danizilla Escapes Portland!

  1. What a great vacation! I am jealous! I always carry a tiny lotion for the plane because it dries my skin out so badly. Have fun and Merry Christmas!

    • I’m definitely bringing lotion this time, I have about a million bottles at home because I end up buying more when I travel, especially if I get sunburnt :|

    • I’m traveling without a laptop for the first time since 2009! But mostly because I have a new phone that can do most of what I would need anyway…feels weird though, like I am leaving something essential behind!

      • My favorite was Diamondhead. I could have sat there all day looking at the views. Pearl Harbor and the Missouri were very interesting if you can sign up for a tour of those. The sights are beautiful if you can get out of Waikiki/Honolulu. I also saw a musician one night in a bar who was great. http://johnnyhelm.com/. If you can fit seeing him into your schedule you should. He plays in various bars each night of the week.

  2. I’m sure you’re having a great time right now here on my island. We’ve had lovely weather. I hope you’re having fun anyhow! :)

    Thank you so much for linking up to the Aloha Friday Blog Hop last week. I am following you back by the way. :)

    If you have time, we’d love to have you come and link up to the Aloha Friday Blog Hop if you haven’t already! (Thank you so very much if you’ve already linked up, I truly appreciate it!!)

    Come and link up, enter the giveaway (if you haven’t yet) and celebrate the coming weekend with us!

    Aloha,

    Jean {What Jean Likes}

    • Thanks, Jean! I just got back, reluctantly getting back into the groove of “real life” in freezing cold weather. Loved Oahu, so, so much. I will be going back for sure. I had so much fun and the weather was amazing!

Leave a Reply

